love letters.

For My Mother.

I’m not the best gift-giver in the world so I figured instead, for this Mother’s Day, I’d honor my mom with a blog post that’s all about her and all she’s done for me over the past eighteen years of my life.

So, mom. Where to start?

You’ve been my go to since day one. Whether it was my temper tantrums at age three, my scraped knees at eight, to my boy problems and outfit dilemmas nowadays. You’ve always been there to lend a hand, to celebrate, to be the shoulder to cry on.

Thank you for that.

Thank you for being the example to follow and to look up to as a mom. You’ve taught me how to be confident in myself and my abilities, you’ve showed me how beautiful and smart I am, you’ve showed me Christ-like love and how a woman should live for Christ. I’m forever grateful to you for that.

Thank you for being my best friend. I love that we’re able to laugh together about what happened to me at school the other day and that you get on Pinterest with me to show me new nail and hair ideas to try out. It makes me so happy that you’re not only able to share deep, heartfelt moments with me, but that you’re also able to share the most random, happy, and funny ones with me too.

Along those lines, thank you for being my friend when it felt like I had none. You know those first two years of high school and living here in Budapest were some of the hardest years of my life thus far, and if it wasn’t for you I don’t know how I would have made it through. You brightened even my worst days with your smile and your warm hugs that always make me feel so safe.

Thank you for showing me the imperfect parts of life. That everything doesn’t always work out, that friends leave, that breakups hurt, that everything doesn’t and isn’t always supposed to go my way. Thank you for showing me that life goes on. You’ve pushed me through the hardest of times with constant encouragement and positivity. You know what I can accomplish and push me through even when I think I can’t do it anymore.

Thank you for disciplining me. I may not be appreciative of it at the time, but the rights and the wrongs of life stick with me. They’ve gotten me out of a lot of sticky situations and kept me from saying or doing things I could’ve majorly regretted later on.

Mom, I may not admit it to you as much as you’d like but you’re right about a lot of things most of the time. All of the times I’ve gotten burned (metaphorically and literally) because I didn’t listen to your advice and all of the times I’ve made stupid mistakes because I was too stubborn to listen, you were right. Every single time. Without fail. You’re the most amazing, beautiful, hilarious, loud, supportive, caring, and loving mother a girl could have. It’s no wonder that every person you meet immediately is drawn in by your natural southern charm and inviting, fun aura that is oh-so contagious to everyone around you. I love you mom and it’s going to be one of the hardest things I have to do when I leave you to go to a college seven hours away from you in such a short while. I know I joke about how ready I am to leave and I love to give you a hard time about it, but I’ll miss all that you do for me, whether it be my laundry or pep talks to get me through a rough day.

You rock mom.

13094317_10208532017365464_2092206816067083734_n.jpg

4 thoughts on “For My Mother.

  1. My momma heart is so so full with this beautiful posts!! So beyond proud of you and your love for God and how you have overcome things by the Grace of God!! You know I am you and your sister’s biggest cheerleader and I will always have your back no matter what!! Gonna miss you like crazy come August so you better call, text and FaceTime me often!! Double Infinity Love forever!!!!

    Like

  2. I hadn’t seen this post until just now, but I just wanted to say that I’m so proud of you! You’re such a gifted writer! And your momma is pretty awesome too! Miss you! Come see us soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

