learning about myself.

Insecurities.

Insecurities. We all deal with them to some extreme. They also vary from person to person on what we’re insecure about. For some it might be what’s on the inside: their brains and how smart they need to appear; while for others it might be what’s on the outside: how pretty a person is and the standard they need to meet to be considered ‘beautiful’.

I’ve been struggling a lot with both kinds of these insecurities lately, but one of them is more prevalent than the other. It’s been on my mind and my heart lately and I wanted to be real with you guys. That’s what this blog is here for after all, sharing my real emotions and thoughts with the entirety of the internet. So if it’s okay with you guys I’m going to talk through some of this and try to provide some confidence boosters, some feel good stuff that we all need to remind ourselves of time and time again.

So here goes nothing.

Lately, I’ve been extremely insecure about what’s on the outside. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, ‘it’s what’s on the inside that counts’ and wanted to punch the person who said that. Because when your brain is constantly bombarding you with thoughts about how you’re not pretty enough, how the girl next to you probably has a boyfriend because she’s ten times prettier than you and how all of those girls on social media get hundreds of likes and comments because of how pretty and well-liked they are and how… the list goes on forever. It’s this never ending, self-destructive circle of thoughts. I’m not pretty enough, skinny enough, curvy enough, my makeup doesn’t look as good, my hair isn’t as effortless and I will never ever be able to be able to achieve any of these things. Self-destructive thoughts like that. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t think like this 24/7 and there are days where feel pretty and confident enough to go out with a bare face. I’m feeling good, ready to take on the world, and then I see her. The girl with the perfectly curled hair, winged eyeliner, wearing the most effortless, but put together, outfit in the entire world. That’s almost always enough to make me run back to my dorm room to throw on some mascara and some lip gloss just too feel less inferior.

BUT GIRLS. DO NOT FORGET: Psalm 139:14  says, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

God has made you and I in His own image! How amazing is that? There is NO ONE ELSE on Earth that has the same features as you do and because of that we should be celebrating our individuality, not tearing ourselves down! God, the creator of the universe, made you fearfully, wonderfully and perfectly in His own image. It hurts him so much to hear us say, “I wish I had blonde hair. I HATE my brown hair.” God gave you brown hair because that’s what makes you, you! God gave you all of your special features from the freckles on your faces to the dimple on your cheek. Learn to love yourselves girls, because once you love yourself the rest is SO much easier.

We also need to remember beauty isn’t everything though. 1 Peter 3:3-4 says, “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” I know it’s hard to hear and it’s the exact opposite of what the media is telling us but girls, if you want to be a daughter of God, the most beautiful thing about you should be what’s on the inside. People who recognize you by your kind words and encouraging heart are the ones who are truly seeing you for who you are and who God wants you to become.

So girls, be your own kind of beautiful. If that beautiful means wearing makeup, then wear it. If it means wearing no makeup at all, then go for it! You’re beautiful no matter what. Girls, I challenge you to build each other up today. Compliment someone, “hey, I really like your smile, it’s beautiful!” or even comment about on what generally goes unseen by most, “wow, you really did well in the debate today, you gave so much evidence and you really believed in what you were saying! Great job!” Those kinds of unconventional compliments are the kind that make my day, the kind that stay with me for weeks. Be the light in someone’s life and be the reason someone smiles today. Spread hope, love, and joy my friends. That’s all I ask.

 

(also check out the rest of my images for “you shouldn’t”. If you go to the right side of the main page, find the column on the right side and click it, it should take you there.)

Leave a Reply

